Mystery Thrillers


Are you looking for high quality, entertaining and informative eBooks to read? I Just Read It is the place to be. We feature great FREE and DEEP DISCOUNT eBooks from your favorite popular authors to up and coming self-publishing writers with awesome catalogs of titles you haven’t discovered yet. You can download these books on any device including Amazon Kindle, B&N Nook, Apple iPad, and Google Play Android. CUSTOMIZE your settings and view only the books you want to read!

Start by creating your profile or signing in!

Sign Up Login

Shaw's War: An engrossing crime thriller
Shaw's War: An engrossing crime thriller

Through 25 Feb by Antony Melville-Ross

Original Price:$1.99

Current Price: Free!

About the book

SAS officer Harry Shaw is a man with a lethal mission and a master of the essential elements in a successful undercover operation – stealth, surprise and the stomach to kill quietly and mercilessly.

Disillusioned by the war of attrition in Ulster, he leaves the SAS and decides to ‘take out’ on his own the money men, the ringleaders of the American organisation NORAID who supply funds – blood money, as Shaw sees it – to the IRA.

To raise the finance for his operation, Shaw has to become a mercenary. Planning to exploit the situation to his own advantage, he embroils himself and his friend and former NCO, Bill Townsend, in the conflict in the Middle East. The funds he channels into his own private war as he pursues his quarry ruthlessly from the ‘bandit country’ of South Armagh to the concrete jungle of New York.

A spate of terrorist attacks launched by Shaw forces America and NORAID to take notice of his demands. But when the CIA, the SAS and finally the IRA start putting the pieces together Shaw’s war starts to turn very ugly indeed.

Shaw’s War is a sparkling, highly topical, technically inventive thriller – the story of one man’s attempt to take terrorism to the streets of New York.

Praise for Anthony Melville Ross

'Rare thriller-writer’s skill' Daily Telegraph

‘Splendid - tense, gripping, convincing’ Books & Bookmen

Anthony Melville-Ross was born in Hastings, East Sussex on November 11 1920. He published six novels between 1978 and 1985, all inspired by his background as a sub-mariner in the Second World War. He had an extremely successful career in the navy, rose to command his own boat and transferred into the Secret Service after the end of the war. He died in his hometown on January 10 1993, aged 73.

Available on: Amazon  

Category: Mystery Thrillers

More details →
Blackshirt Sets the Pace (A Blackshirt Mystery Book 10)
Blackshirt Sets the Pace (A Blackshirt Mystery Book 10)

Through 25 Feb by Roderic Jeffries

Original Price:$1.99

Current Price: Free!

About the book

An attempted suicide turns into a murder: the is a mystery for Blackshirt!

In the early hours of the morning, John Trayner jumped from a bridge parapet into the Thames river below. By some miracle, he’s rescued, alive and well. But why would a man who has a successful career, no jealous or quarrelsome lovers at home, and of prefect health, attempt suicide? The only criminal record Trayner has was a minor offence of marijuana use in his students years. But with no other clues, the police leave the matter alone.

Then a few days later, John Trayner is killed by a lorry. Whilst Head of Security, Wright is concerned that it’s another suicide attempt – gone horribly right – a witness says a second man pushed him. If that’s the case, poor Trayner was murdered.

With little to go on, Wright calls in the help of the infamous cracksmith, Richard Verill – alias Blackshirt. And as Verill investigates, he stumbles on a conspiracy far greater than either he and Wright ever expected…

Another installment to the popular Blackshirt series, Blackshirt Sets the Pace is a thrilling crime mystery. With plenty of wit and humour, Roderic Jeffries’s novel is sure to entertain until the very last word. Perfect for fans of John Burke and Alan Scholefield.

Praise for Roderic Jeffries

'A first-rate whodunit turning on the resourcefulness of a country gentleman who exploits the process of the law to delay its action. Author on the top of his legal and social form.' - Francis Goff, The Sunday Telegraph

‘Roderic Jeffries established a very high reputation for himself.' - Maurice Richardson, The Observer

‘The most ingenious of Mr. Jeffries's exercises in legal trickery.' - Julian Symons, The Sunday Times

'...is for the mystery story connoisseur and particularly the man who can appreciate this ingenious exercise in legal trickery.' - Police World

Roderic Jeffries was born in London in 1926 and was educated at Harrow View House Preparatory School and the Department of Navigation, University of Southampton. He was called to the Bar in 1953, and after one year’s pupillage, practiced law for a few terms during which time there to write full time. His first book, a sea story for juveniles, was published in 1950.

Available on: Amazon  

Category: Mystery Thrillers

More details →
The Pilgrim Strain
The Pilgrim Strain

Through 25 Feb by C.P. Edgar

Original Price:$1.99

Current Price: Free!

About the book

This is a story about conquest...

James Sandean has decided that the world must be saved from humanity’s incompetence and reclaimed. He is willing to leverage his multi-billion dollar empire in order to do what others would not. With the help of his trusted advisors, he plots a diabolical course of action around the globe.

High up in the mountains of Papua New Guinea, Covert Action Unit Speedwell moves stealthily over the rough terrain to extract their stolen materials. Their contract seemed normal, but something has gone horribly wrong. Now, their leader must navigate them across the world to help stop what they have inadvertently set free.

Within the war devastated borders of South Sudan, a doctor with the World Health Organization desperately tries to help the refugees ascend from sickness, but her desire to help and heal may have given rise to something far more sinister.

In Washington, D.C., David McDaniel must decide how to save his world from a force of terror he has only just begun to decipher and understand. He must decide how far he is willing to go to stop The Pilgrim Strain.

Available on: Amazon  

Category: Mystery Thrillers

More details →
Inflict
Inflict

Through 25 Feb by Bethany-Kris

Original Price:$1.99

Current Price: Free!

About the book

As the son of an Irish mobster, Connor O’Neil spent his boyhood hiding from the horrors of his own home. His one reprieve was a girl he knew only as Evelyn, but even she was taken away. As a man, Connor is determined to stay away from his father’s business. With Sean, participation is not a request, but a demand. The truth is, Connor might be more like the evil he’s trying to hide away from than he would like to admit.

And he’s already spent years trying to cover the scars left over from the pain.

A chance encounter puts the lost girl from his past back on his path, and he no longer has a choice but to face the darkness he’s been ignoring for years.

Evelyn. Sasha. Slave.

She doesn’t really know who she is anymore.

Or maybe she does, and she doesn’t want to tell.

She isn’t the same as she once was—now a thing to be kept and maintained, shuffled from owner to owner until it was her time to go. She only became Connor’s because he took her when he knew she wasn’t his to take.

Except she isn’t Connor’s at all …

And he can’t keep her hidden forever.

~Inflict is a Standalone Romance with graphic depictions of violence, sexual scenes, dark elements and a HEA. It is not recommended for those under the age of 18.

Available on: Amazon  

Category: Mystery Thrillers

More details →
The Purge of District 89 (A Grower's War Book 1)
The Purge of District 89 (A Grower's War Book 1)

Through 25 Feb by D.J. Molles

Original Price:$1.99

Current Price: $0.99

About the book

"The perfect culmination of jaw breaking action and political intrigue from DJ Molles. Readers will certainly find his newest thriller to be as chilling as it is exciting."
--Nicholas Sansbury Smith USA Today bestselling author of Hell Divers

Keep your head down. Do what you’re told. It’s easier that way.

Walter Lawrence Baucom is used to the troops that patrol Agrarian District 89. He grew up with the sight of Chinese and Russian soldiers, right alongside the American ones. They are the Coalition. “The Three Brothers,” they call themselves. They claim that they are there to help. And he thinks that if he doesn’t rock the boat, then they will never have a reason to break in his door and disappear him, like they did to his brother.

But when a Chinese captain is kidnapped by resistance members, Walter is suddenly thrust into a fight he never wanted. A fight where there are many sides, but very few allies. As things in District 89 quickly spiral out of control and the borders are closed by Coalition troops, Walter will have to make a decision: What is he willing to fight for?

His life? His freedom?

His family?

Available on: Amazon  

Category: Mystery Thrillers

More details →